Devon Sports Awards

Community sporting heroes and heroines were celebrated in style at Sandy Park on  Friday 22nd June at the 21st Devon Sports Awards. Stars from the sporting, entertainment and culinary world came together to pay tribute and thank those that enable thousands of people in Devon to be active and enjoy sport at a grass-roots level.

The glittering celebration evening was the culmination of a six month nomination and shortlisting process organised by a partnership of the Exeter Foundation, Active Devon and Exeter College.

Congratulations to all our winners on the night:

Performance in Community Sport

  • Buckland Athletic Ladies FC (sport Football) – Teignbridge
  • Cameron Williams, Dartmoor Darts Aquatic (sport Swimming) – Plymouth
  • Ethan Kirby, Newton Abbot Athletics Club (sport Athletics) – Teignbridge
  • Jack Willis, Teignmouth Surf Lifesaving Club (sport Surf Lifesaving) – Teignbridge
  • Lauren Dolan, Mid Devon Cycling Club (sport Cycling) – Teignbridge
  • Robin Delve, Mid Devon Cycling Club (sport Cyclo-cross) – Exeter

Devon Young Coach of the Year

Nathaniel Rookes, Tavistock Swimming Club (sport swimming) – West Devon

Devon Coach of the Year

Mike Beagley, Falcons Gymnastics (sport Gymnastics) – North Devon

Devon Young Volunteer of the Year

Paul Corbiere, The Lodge Action Sports Club (sport Skateboarding) – Teignbridge

Devon Volunteer of the Year

Sean Philpot, Apollo Sports Club (Circuit Training & Football) – Torbay

Contribution to Inclusive Sport

The Wave Project (sport Surfing) – Plymouth

Business Contribution to Sport in the Community

Bright Solicitors (sport Various) – Plymouth

Business Contribution to Staff Well Being through Sporting Activity

The Environment Agency (sport Various) – Exeter

Devon Club of the Year

Storm Running (Running) – Plymouth

Outstanding Contribution to Sport in Devon

Storm Running (Running) – Plymouth

Other local sports awards include: